Daily Archives: January 8, 2010

Tax & development

I must confess that despite my puzzlement at the UK Government’s latest approach to intellectual property (see CAS-IP blog of 3 December 2009), I was pleased to read on Information Age that one of the suggestions in the pre-budget proposal, includes the UK Treasury intention to decrease tax income generated by patents from 28% to 10%.  Chancellor Alastair Darling explaining the proposal said:

“I want to encourage research into pharmaceuticals and the biotechnology industry”.

It seems that the UK is following the current European trend, in particular that of the Belgium’s government.  I am curious to hear from our readers what the patents’ income tax is in their countries, especially in developing countries. Please drop us a message to let us know!

Post written by Francesca Re Manning, consultant to CAS-IP

